Photography, photojournalism

Photoshoot at Wexford Tattoo_Photojournalism Practice

Today I spent an hour or so shooting Kevin Killeen, master tattooist, at work in his Wexford Tattoo studio. A real professional, and good taste in music too; Hank Williams just got a new fan.

I felt a bit like a mosquito buzzing round the relatively small studio trying to land in the right places to get the best shots. At times i found myself wanting a 35mm lens; sometimes the 50mm is just not wide enough. I sold my 24-105mm last year; it was big and slow, and, besides, my photography improved using only one focal length; the 50mm.

After shooting off approx 100 frames, I thanks the lads and said my goodbyes. I knew i had got a few good shots, but i felt that somehow i didn’t get THE shot. did you ever get that feeling? Its important to know when to stop shooting, and when to hang around that little bit longer, just in case….

Standard

Leave a Reply

