Photography, photojournalism

Kiln Firing, The Potters Yard

I can’t believe it’s almost one year since beginning the MA in photojournalism and Documentary Photography course. Where has the time gone? So far it has been a very positive experience and I have met many new people as a result.

One of our first assignments was to photograph a person at work. I approached a local potter, Patricia Howard, and she was very welcoming. That was January 2011. I have since been over to Patricia’s Potters Yard on a few occasions for different events.

Early in December she invited me over to experience and photograph the annual firing of her self-made kiln, or ‘The Dragon’ as she calls it. I have many photos from that evening which I will post in the coming week in some form of edit.

Until then, behold The Dragon….

 

Standard

One thought on “Kiln Firing, The Potters Yard

  1. That is a beautiful shot Simon, the whole edifice looks as if it will immolate, miraculously it does not go on fire. I love that kiln. Thank you for the photogenius. You are great to spend the time at the Yard. Patricia.

Leave a Reply

