art, Ireland, Photography

Irish Landscape Paintings and Painters

Cows in Field, Walter Frederick Osborne

As part of my research into representations of the Irish landscape I have been looking at Irish Landscape painters and paintings. The local library is understocked on the subject, and while the internet is a great source of information, I prefer to read about subjects in depth from a book – I just cant read more than a thousand words on a computer screen before my eyes and mind glaze over, or I am distracted by some flashing banner or link.

Luckily, my sister and her boyfriend have an extensive library of art: Both of them are artists. Irish Art, by Bruce Arnold, has a good introductory section to landscape art, and it is from this section that I discovered the art and artists featured below. (though not all are included in the section).

Most of these paintings are from the late 19th Century, a very different Ireland. So distant, yet still so close. This list by no means an exhaustive list, nor is it chronological. I will be updating in the near future with more paintings and painters from more recent times.

Connemara Landscape, Walter Frederick Osborne

Turn Of The Road, Paul Henry

Low Tide, Paul Henry

Pastures Malahide, Nathaniel Hone

Dun Aengus Fort, George Petrie

The Poachers, James Arthur O’ Connor

The Mill Ballinrobe, James Arthur O’ Connor

An Old Mill, James Arthur O’ Connor

A View Of Irishtown From Sandymount, James Arthur O’ Connor

Standard

9 thoughts on “Irish Landscape Paintings and Painters

  1. Wow don’t know too much about Irish painters other than my aunt (i feel like I should thou). Very interesting Simon. Walter Frederick Osborne’s stuff looks particularly interesting.

  2. Dear Simon, Please see zeteojournal.com and perhaps write me/us at zeteojournal AT gmail as regards your interesting project: “As part of my research into representations of the Irish landscape . . . ” Best, Wm. (montaigbakhtinian.com)

Leave a Reply

