art, Ireland, Photography

Sculptures at the National Gallery of Ireland.

During the Easter break, we (wife, kids and I) made a day trip to Dublin town and visited the National Gallery of Ireland. Our kids are prolific artists and go through reams of A4 paper faster than a small office.

I have long admired the architecture of the Millennium Wing of the Gallery, and have on occasion stopped in to have a coffee, but I have not visited the gallery spaces since I was a child, (a long, long, time ago).

Some of the art collections had No Photography signs, but I didn’t see any prohibited signs in the sculpture gallery so I whipped out the mobile phone ( I forgot to bring my ‘real’ camera) and got up close and personal.

The collection contains many fine European 18th century marbles, and a large number of sculptures by Irish artists. If you are any way interested in art, the Gallery is well worth a visit.
SB_DSC_0044_web SB_DSC_0038_web SB_DSC_0041_web SB_DSC_0045_web SB_DSC_0039_web SB_DSC_0040_web

Standard

Leave a Reply

