Ireland, Landscapes, Photography, travel

Wordless Wednesday – almost

SB_20131023_0040_web

Walled garden at Johnstown Castle, Wexford, Ireland.

 

One thing I really don’t like about digital photography is the way it renders greens. Having primarily used film for the past few years I love the way Kodak Portra ‘captures’ greens – plant life in particular, but maybe it’s also true for textiles, etc. The greens in digital files just don’t quite cut it when it comes to plant life. Yes, they are vibrant, bright, and saturated, but to my eyes, they look slightly unnatural.

So, I am always experimenting in Photoshop to try and emulate the film look. I think I may be closing in…. What do you think?

Standard

3 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday – almost

  1. I am not familiar with with film photography but I can certainly appreciate your comment about digital film not really capturing nature (for lack of a better word) naturally. I love bumping up the saturation/contrast of my landscape photographs. I don’t think it makes the photo a “lie”. I believe my eye captures more color than a camera can understand. Why not photoshop the colors to what we actually may be experiencing?

    Great photo!

    • Hi Rachel,
      thanks for your comments. I do think bumping the contrast gives the digital photos a little ‘film feel’. I have also started to play around more with filters. Must get an iphone for myself. Your photos look great; would love to visit FLW’s Falling Water someday, he is certainly up there with the architectural greats.
      Best wishes,
      Simon

  2. Hi Simon
    Thanks for liking my post about Berlin today, I was blown away by the architecture, a one day visit was ridiculous! I am already planning to go back.
    As to digital greens, yes you are right, they often come out looking unnatural, I find Lightroom helps, as you can change the white balance, saturation etc selectively using a mask.
    I’ve only been using it since this summer but I like it much better than Photoshop.
    I am going to read your blog now, just seen the first few photos, I must plan a trip to Ireland too!
    Sally

Leave a Reply

