Photography, photojournalism, Vernacular architecture

Vernacular Unspectacular #2

Following on from my recent Vernacular Unpectacular posting, I was pointed – during a tutorial – in the direction of Raymond Moore, photographer; a man who in his own words tried to photograph “the magic that lies beneath the surface of things”.

The photographs below were taken prior to looking at Raymond Moore’s work, which is really interesting and challenging.

When I set out to document these rural vernacular buildings, I didn’t fully think about what exactly I was photographing. I guess there was some hidden desire to try and capture a sense of place, a sense of the history, some kind of resonant energy,  and its entirely probable that these images also reflect some inner state of being at the time of pushing the button.

Standard

One thought on “Vernacular Unspectacular #2

Leave a comment